14.4 C
New York
Sunday, May 28, 2023

Buy now

ICC reveals prize money for World Test Championship 2021-23 Cycle; winners to receive $1.6 Million

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the prize pool on Friday World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23 cycle, a total of $3.8 million will be divided among the nine participating teams.

Notably, the WTC cycle is set to end with only one game (the final) where Australia will take on India from June 7 at the Oval in London. The victorious team will not only claim the coveted WTC mace but will also receive additional prizes. ,

The champion of this grand red-ball tournament will take home an impressive $1.6 million, while the second-place team will receive a whopping $800,000. The tournament’s prize money has remained unchanged from the inaugural edition, with a total purse of $3.8 million.

A total of $3.8 million in prize money will be distributed among all the nine participating teams in the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23. South Africa, finishing third in the standings, will receive a share of $450,000. Similarly, EnglandThe late returnee and fourth-place finisher will be awarded $350,000.

Despite being among the top teams competing for a place in the finals, Sri Lanka finished their campaign in fifth place and will be rewarded with a prize money of $200,000. The rest of the teams, ie new zealand (number 6), Pakistan (No. 7), West Indies (No. 8), and Bangladesh (No. 9), will each receive $100,000 as their respective prize money.


Related articles

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.