13.7 C
New York
Sunday, May 28, 2023

Buy now

WTC 2023 Final: Ravichandran Ashwin spills beans about India’s remarkable journey in the World Test Championship

running once Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 The season is over and the eyes of the fans will be fixed on its second edition. World Test Championship (WTC) final between India And Australiascheduled to take place from June 7 to June 11 England,

Team India is gearing up for the second consecutive WTC Final 2023 to be held at The Oval from 7th June. Rohit SharmaThe spearheaded team will clash with Australia for the coveted title.

ahead of the WTC finals, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) released a video of some players from the current Indian Test side looking back at their journey to the WTC final. The shared video is from the time India reached the final of the WTC New from zealand win over Sri Lanka In the first test.

Ravichandran Ashwin He spoke at length about how the team turned things around after the charismatic captain’s retirement Mahendra Singh Dhoni And how an inexperienced party set out on a journey on their own.

“The turnaround definitely started in 2014. MS Dhoni had just retired and we all had played a few Tests…and we had to start our own journey. It is never easy without seniors, but I can comfortably say that all the efforts we have put in in the last two cycles of WTC have really paid off. Ashwin said in a video posted by the BCCI.

“We are qualifying (for the WTC finals) for the second time in a row. This is not a minor achievement. We would have liked to have won the series in India 3-1 or 3-0 or whatever but Australia played some good cricket. We couldn’t do that. However, this final has rewarded us for the kind of cricket we played.” Ashwin said.

India finished second in the WTC points table, while Australia topped the table. India’s qualification depended on Sri Lanka losing at least one Test in the two-match Test series against New Zealand, and Kane Williamson helped India beat the Lanka Lions with his brilliant century. This will also be India’s second appearance in the WTC final after losing to New Zealand in 2021 in the inaugural edition of the championship.

Indian team for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (Week).

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav have been named as stand-by players.


Related articles

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.