13.8 C
New York
Sunday, October 2, 2022

Buy now

A’ja Wilson and Breanna Stewart lead Team USA into a new era as the 2022 FIBA World Cup begins

The United States women’s national team will begin its quest for another gold medal at the international level when the 2022 FIBA ​​Women’s Basketball World Cup kicks off on Wednesday night. Team USA has won gold medals in the last three World Cups (2018, 2014 and 2010) and will once again be in favor of winning the competition, featuring 12 of the strongest national basketball teams in the world.

Team USA, which ran a week-long training camp from September 6 to September 12, announced its final 12-player World Cup roster on Tuesday morning. Ariel Atkins and Shakira Austin of the Washington Mystics, Kahleh Copper, Chelsea Grey, Kelsey Plum and Aja Wilson of the Las Vegas Aces, Sabrina Ionescu and Betanijah Laney, Briana Jones and Alyssa of the New York Liberty are involved. Thomas of the Connecticut Sun and Jewel Lloyd and Brenna Stewart of the Seattle Storm. Cheryl Reeve (Minnesota Lynx) will serve as the team’s head coach.

At first glance, the Rooster seems like a balanced one. It’s deep in the frontcourt, athletic on the wing and a trio of talented playwrights in the lead guard. It also has the star power that Team USA followers have become accustomed to (though perhaps not as much as during the Olympic years), with Wilson and Stewart finishing first and second in the 2022 WNBA MVP voting, respectively.

However, there has been a fair amount of roster turnover. Eight of the 12 players on Team USA’s 2022 roster (Atkins, Austin, Copper, Grey, Ionescu, Jones, Laney and Thomas) will compete in World Cup play for the first time, with Austin also not attending a training camp. Senior national team level before September.

Betnijah Laney is one of the many players from Team USA who will participate in the World Cup for the first time.
Photo by Ned Dishman/NBAE via Getty Images

Then, the 2022 World Cup can be seen as the beginning of a new era for USA Basketball. With several Team USA veterans recently retiring (Sue Bird, Sylvia Fowles) or firmly in the twilight of their respective careers (Diana Taurasi, Tina Charles), the program has quite a void to fill, and it goes without saying. It goes that players like Wilson, Stewart, Lloyd and Ionescu will star for the United States for many years to come, any sort of continuity Team USA can establish between now and the 2024 Paris Olympics.

However, the end goal is another gold medal. Although Team USA is in a transition year, it is still well equipped to score four consecutive runs in the World Cup.


The group stage of the World Cup will take place from September 21 to September 27, (note the difference in time zones; it will take place in Australia on September 22 when things tip-off) during which Team USA will play five games, with each team in Group A. against one. The games will either be streamed on ESPN+ or broadcast nationally on the ESPN family of networks.

The group stage will be followed by four quarterfinal games on 29 September, two semifinal games on 30 September, and first place (gold) and third place (bronze) games on 1 October.

Wednesday, September 21

USA vs Belgium; 9:30 p.m. ET (ESPN+)

Thursday, September 22

USA v Puerto Rico; 8:30 p.m. ET (ESPN+)

Saturday, September 24

USA vs China; 12:30AM ET (ESPN 2)

Monday, September 26

USA vs. Korea; 12 p.m. ET (ESPN 2)

Tuesday, September 27

USA v Bosnia and Herzegovina; 12 p.m. ET (ESPNU)

Related articles

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.